Gnomes Read, Write, and Think

"Yeah, I've seen those things they think are gnomes," said Ron, bent double with his head in a peony bush, "like fat little Santa Clauses with fishing rods…” -JK Rowling

Personal Narrative Progress

In class, students are using school computers to create a high-quality draft of their personal narratives.

What should students be working on at home if they are typing a draft at school? Revision and editing!

Students should use the personal narrative checklist in their writer’s notebooks to revise and edit their narrative.  Adults at home can offer to read and provide feedback, too.  This support is very much appreciated!

PERSONAL NARRATIVE CHECKLIST:

I have written about a small moment in time.
My personal narrative contains a SO WHAT?  I have shown why my story is important.
I have shown how the characters felt and what they thought.
I have written 4-5 paragraphs and my narrative has a strong   beginning, middle, and end.
I have used transition words.
I have correctly written dialogue using a variety of tags.
I have used figurative language (simile, metaphor, personification,   etc.)
I used interesting, precise, accurate words.
I re-read my narrative many times and added, cut, and reworded to   improve it.
I have proofread my narrative many times for spelling, punctuation,   and grammar.  My narrative is as   mechanically correct as I can make it.
Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.

